A Municipal Separate Storm Sewer System (MS4) is a publicly-owned conveyance system comprised of ditches, curbs, catch basins, underground pipes, etc. That is designed to collect or deliver stormwater discharge to Waters of the State. An MS4 can be operated by municipalities, counties, drainage districts, colleges, military bases, and other approved entities.

Florida Department of Environmental Protection (FDEP) established the National Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (NPDES) in 2000, the City of Ft. Pierce joined this program in 2003. The NPDES permit allows the City of Fort Pierce’s MS4 to discharge stormwater from its stormwater system into the Indian River, Taylor Creek, Savannas Preserve State Park, Atlantic Ocean, Peterson Road Canal/5-Mile Creek, Moore’s Creek, and 10-Mile Creek. The permits are intended to reduce stormwater pollutant discharges into receiving water bodies in accordance with the approved Stormwater Management Programs (SWMPs), effluent limitations, monitoring requirements, and other provisions are also set forth in the permit.

For more information on state stormwater management regulations, visit:

Florida Department of Environmental Protection
U.S. Environmental Protection Agency